Thursday, April 23, 2015

O is for the The Ohio Players & Oceano (Adam Warren)

The Ohio Players is an American funk band that originated in the 1970s. The band began with original members, Robert Ward who was a vocalist/guitarist, Marshall "Rock" Jones who played bass, Clarence "Satch" Satchel who was the saxophonist/guitarist, Cornelius Johnson played drums, and Ralph "Pee Wee" Middlebrooks played the trumpet and trombone. The band initially started off under the name "The Ohio Untouchables". In 1961 the band toured with a band called "The Falcons" and went on to release their first single "Love Is Amazing". Shortly after this release, Robert Ward left the band to pursue a solo career. This led to the band breaking up temporarily.
   After the band reformed in the late they had only one hit that made it to the R&B charts. The band later signed to Mercury Records in 1974 and after disbanding a third time, the remaining members reformed with new members Walter "Junie" Morrison (vocalist, keyboardist and songwriter), Bruce Napier (trumpeter) and Marvin Pierce (trombonist). The 1970s is where the band saw most of their success and where they released hits like "Funky Worm", " Fire" and "Love Rollercoaster". Continuing their rise to fame, the band became one of the most influential funk bands of the 70s, so much so the band went on to obtain three platinum albums and their music has been sampled and covered by many big artist like "Snoop Dogg, Salt & Pepper, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers". The band continues to make music and tour; their last single was released in 2012 titled "This Is Your Night".

Oceano- (Adam Warren) is a death metal band with origins from Chicago that came on the scene in 2006. The band began as a grindcore band but later revised their sound in 2007. The band was formed by guitarist Jeremy Carroll and is comprised of Andrew Mikhail who plays guitar, Danny Terchin on drums, Adam Warren heading vocals, and Kevin Colabuono on bass.
  The band signed to Earache Records in 2008 and went straight on tour. The same year Jeremy Carroll and Kevin Colabuono left the band and Jason Jones joined the band as their bassist. In 2009 the band released their first album in 2009. After taking a break, the band returned in 2013 and continued to release albums and play shows. Later the and reformed again, with many of the original members changing often. The remaining members and newly recruited members Michael Kasper and Scott Smith (guitarists) and Chris Wagner (bassist); the band released their fourth album "Ascendents" recently in early 2015.



No comments:

Post a Comment